CIS observers recorded no any violations affecting the election results
12:43 - 21 June, 2021

CIS observers recorded no any violations affecting the election results The CIS observer mission in Armenia hasn’t registered any violations during the June 20 snap parliamentary elections which could affect the results, Head of the mission Ilhom Nematov said at a press conference today in Yerevan. 

He reminded that their mission involved 96 observers, assuring that they were two well-experienced people, MPs, representatives from Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Russia, Tajikistan, Uzbekistan, as well as the CIS Inter-Parliamentary Assembly, the CSTO Parliamentary Assembly, the Russian-Belarusian Union. The CIS observers have been to 700 polling stations.

Nematov stated that the elections started calmly, without any noise, the polling stations opened on time, at 08:00. The observers have together prepared a final document about the results.

“The election process was held in accordance with the requirements of the Electoral Code. The observers haven’t recorded any violations that could affect the election results”, Nematov said.

He also emphasized the high level of the organization of the election process. According to him, the elections were organized and held in accordance with Armenia’s Constitution and Electoral Code. He highlighted the fact that 25 political forces participated in the elections, adding that this gives Armenian voters an opportunity for choice.

The observers registered some shortcomings but stated they are not of a systematic nature.

It should be reminded that according to the election results, the "Civil Contract" party has received 53.92  % of the votes, the "Armenia" alliance comes second with 21.04 %, the "I Have the Honor" ("Pativ Unem") alliance is the third with 5.23 % of the votes. The "Prosperous Armenia" Party and the "Republic" Party have received 3.96 % and 3.04 % respectively.
The other 13 political forces have far fewer votes.

If you have found a typo, you can send it to us by selecting the typo and pressing CTRL + Enter

read more

comment.count (0)

to comment